Do you like surprises?

Hello gorgeous,

We are just back from a weekend in Barcelona, where we went to celebrate our friend’s Santi’s 50th birthday. His wife had organized a party for him and he did not know about it (he did not want one in the first place), but was really happy about it!

So I had to think about surprises…

I think kids always like surprises, for they are always nice, from a kid’s prospective, but when we grow older; we say that we only like “nice” surprises, we don’t like the unexpected invoice in the mail, or the bad news! And I wonder if we maybe have lost a bit our kids’ spirit, our capacity to be amazed…

So I have a very simple suggestion for you this week: to surprise another (or more!).

You could surprise your partner, your kids, or a loved one. You could throw a birthday party (or say start organizing one!), organize a weekend away, buy a surprise gift (or flowers) for someone, cook their favorite dish…

You could also surprise yourself, that is do something unexpected, act (or react) in a different way, for a change, be more spontaneous maybe, do something out of the ordinary, try clothes in a color you never wear… I decided for instance to check whether I would like to take drumming lessons, so I called and asked if I could attend a lesson, just watching, and I could, so I went! And it felt really good, I could barely stay seated, my feet were beating time, and so were my hands… So I think I will give it a go!

And how about thinking of: how can you have more fun this week? What would it mean? What would you need to add to (or remove from) your agenda? And more fun in general? Let me know what actions you will take!

Lead the life that will make you kindly and friendly to everyone about you, and you will be surprised what a happy life you will lead. Charles M. Schwab

I wish you a wonderful week!

Much love, Madeleine

Leave a comment